Dainty Ladies

dainty ladies

cooking book

「Dainty Ladies」、上品で優美な婦人達とでも訳しましょうか。英国のTV番組「Downton Abbey (ダウントンアービー)」の背景となっている時代に、High Tea で出された特別なクッキーだそうです。最近出版された、「Downton Abbey」のクッキング・ブックからのレセピです。

待ちに待った「シリーズ4」も、ネットフリックスから送られて来たDVDで見終わりました。あまりの人気でウェイティングがすごかったです。「Downton Abbey」は全くのフィクションですが、衣装や食事、建物、階級社会、外国とのやりとりなど、かなり英国当時の状況を忠実に再現しているようです。さて、「Dainty Ladies」に話を戻すと、当時ココナッツは外国から輸入される貴重品なので、ココナッツを入れたこのクッキーは特別だったのです。フットマンが着飾った婦人達にこのクッキーをサーブするとき、婦人達は白い手袋に油のしみがつかないように、優雅に脱いで頂いたそうです。それほど、油脂の多いさくさくのクッキーでした。

今では、めずらしくも何とも無い「ココナッツ」ですが、その当時を偲んで、ちょっと優雅にお茶と一緒に、「Dainty Ladies」をつまむことにします。「あんまり食べ過ぎたらdainty(優雅)な体型じゃなくなるから、気をつけてね。」とは我が主人のことば。「昔は太っていることがお金持ちの証拠だったのよ。」とやり返す私。まあいずれにせよ、糖分の取り過ぎはいけません。と思いきや、このレセピ、糖分と言えるのは、大さじ1杯のコーンシロップだけ。甘いココナッツフレイクを入れても甘味が足りない場合は、少しお砂糖を足した方が良いと思いました。クッキーというよりは、ショートブレッドに近いお味でした。道理で紅茶に合うはずです。

Ingredients needed to make Dainty Ladies:

2 cups flour
1 cup flaked coconut
1 cup rolled oats (oatmeal)
1 tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. cream of tartar
1 cup butter
1 Tbs. corn syrup
2 Tbs. water
1 Tbs. vanilla

Steps:
1. Preheat the oven to 325°F. Line the bottom of a baking sheet with parchment paper
or a silicon sheet.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, coconut, rolled oats, baking soda, and
cream of tartar.

3. In a small pan over medium heat, melt the butter into the corn syrup and water.
Once the butter has melted, stir in the vanilla.

4. Pour the butter mixture into the flour mixture and stir until it is combined.

5. Let the dough sit 5 minutes for the oats to soak up the butter mixture.

6. Remove walnut-size portions of the mixture and roll into a ball.

7. Place the balls onto the prepared baking sheet.

8. Place into the oven and bake 12 minutes.

9. Remove from the oven and place the cookies on a wire rack to cool.

 

 

コメントを投稿

Required fields are marked *

*
*

